Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


No New Phone Without Residential Address.
September 24, 2007, 9:04 pm
Filed under: Establishing | Tags: , , ,

My first full day in New Zealand started off by sleeping until 10 AM. That’s a 12-hour sleep, of which I do not have many. I guess I’m over my jet lag now. After playing with my boss’ dog (identical to one of my Barrie boss’ dogs) for an hour, I showered up and went into the City. Auckland is divided up into somewhat autonomous suburbs – in the Winnipeg style back when the Unicity was first formed – of which one is focussed upon the Downtown. It’s called “Auckland City” or “Auckland Central”. That’s where I work and will live, hopefully in short course (it’s tough to be a tomcat when you live with your boss).

After landing in the City at Noon, I decided to set up a bank account and some apartment tours. And having forgotten my passport at my boss’ house, this became quite trying. Apparently, foreigners need a passport to do anything here. I imagine it’s the same for newcomers to Canada, too. I decided to visit work for the first time to mooch their phone to set up tours.

Now why on earth would I want to go into my office, unpaid, simply to mooch a phone? That was based on my detour stop on the way into the City.

I tried to set up a mobile phone and was rebuffed.

Apparently, if you are new to New Zealand, your approved Visa and all the reference letters in the world aren’t enough to satisfy “the corporations” that you’re money is good and reliable. The phone company wants a residential address to validate an account. So to get a mobile phone I have to a) hand over a photocopy of my important passport information, b) fill out a bunch of paperwork, way way more than I needed to get a mortgage for the condo in Barrie I am serious, and c) wait 24 hours for the application to be approved before buying a phone.

???!!???

I started at a suburban outlet near my boss’ house (where I am staying, refer below). I finished the deal in the City, at the flagship location across from the train station and the port where there are lots of foreigners coming into the country looking for phones. Therefore, I remain phoneless until lunchtime tomorrow.

Which is especially handy when all the apartment owners I am looking to tour through tomorrow all want me to “text my mobile number” to them ASAP. Five tours scheduled. Should be a hoot.

If that’s the worst speedbump I have been faced with to this point, I suppose I am made in the shade in this life. But until that is resolved, I can’t whine about it through text messages to my non-existent New Zealand friends. I should get started on that, too.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Joe,

You made it, alive and well. Keep in touch

Comment by Barb Perreault

Best of luck getting over the initial immigrant turbulence there buddy.
Say HI ! to Peter Jackson if you run into him !

~ CopySix
http://www.UrbExBarrie.Blogspot.com

Comment by CopySix

I missed you!!! I miss you!! Have a great time with your foreign accent 😉

Temmer

Comment by Temmer

Hey Joe: Glad to hear you made it down under safe and sound. I was talking with Joel today. He asked me to ask you to set up an appointment (for you and Joel) to meet tomorrow with zoning staff for 220 Harvie Road to complete the severance. What time works best with your schedule?

Comment by Celeste




Leave a Reply

