Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Moon Festival.
September 26, 2007, 7:53 am
Filed under: Establishing | Tags: , ,

I had my first ever Moon Cake yesterday.  Mmm mmm scrumptuous!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

mmmmm…..scrumtrelescent.

Comment by andy devlin

Nice photograph…..look’s like something I saw on the wall at the post office.

Comment by Blacksheep

Nice, nice… and a Happy Mid-Autumn Festival to you too!

Now, which filling didja get… the traditional lotus seed paste with an egg yolk centre?

Oh, and don’t eat the bloody whole moon cake at once. With a fairly high oil content, you can easily feel bloated, trust me. I can still scarf down quite a bit of food, but 1/4 of a moon cake each night just does it for me.

Comment by PianoMan

Nice… and a Happy Mid-Autumn Festival to you, too! Which filling didja get, the traditional lotus seed paste with the egg yolk centre?

Take it from me, don’t eat the bloody moon cake all in one evening. With the high oil content (mostly from the lotus seed paste and egg yolk), you’ll feel bloated and could get a bad case of indigestion. I can still scarf down a lot of food now, but ever since I was a kid I could comfortably handle no more than a 1/4 of a moon cake every night.

Comment by PianoMan

Blah! I tried mooncake last Friday for the very first time – it must be an aquired taste!

(or, you had one made by someone who knew what they were doing)

Comment by b

Some brands are of good quality, while others aren’t so hot… sorta like each nonna having her own version of a classic mushroom risotto, and some nonne cook better than others. Personally, I’ve found the Maxim brand to have been acceptable for a few years.

Comment by PianoMan




Leave a Reply

