Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


When I Do Cook.
November 15, 2007, 6:16 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: ,

I would boast about how awesome my New Zealand cooking is, but I haven’t cooked any “authentic” New Zealand meals thus far.  Lots of my standards: tacos, stir fry, spaghetti and meatballs, french toast, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  But real cooking does get done here.

As I’ve alluded to in earlier posts, seafood is everywhere here so many mains and stir frys feature fish, prawns (shrimp), and various shellfish.  It’s pretty cheap too, which I assume is a factor of supply.  Beef, poultry and mutton are also available, but at comparable prices to each other.  Beef is an industry on the upswing here.

With the large Asian population here, there are lots of twists and varieties added to meals to reflect their tastes.  Almost anything can get curried here, for example.

I’ve been staring at the screen for 10 minutes now.  I guess I don’t know much about the typical New Zealand meal at home.  After all, why cook when you can go to a restaurant instead?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey, here’s a Chinese suggestion since you have access to fresh seafood… if you can get your hands on a smaller saltwater fish that is still swimming in a tank when you order it (tilapia or red snapper are some good examples I can recall right now), have them clean the fish for you (unless you already know how to remove the guts and scales yourself), then back home put it whole in a dish in a steamer with a drizzle of oil (sesame is REALLY aromatic), light soy sauce (not dark!), and shredded green onions and ginger root. The ginger and green onions help get rid of the fishy smell (already minimized due to the freshness factor), and the soy just helps enhance the natural flavours of the fish. Fall-off-the-bone sweet goodness; best to finish it all in one night, and don’t worry about the fish staring back at you while you eat. ;o)

I definitely miss having that back in Ottawa and the GTA.

Comment by PianoMan

Whatever happened to a good old fashioned pizza ???

Comment by Blacksheep




Leave a Reply

