Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


ADRA Half Marathon: Sunday 25 November (Updated – A Summary).
November 24, 2007, 9:36 pm
Filed under: Get Involved! | Tags: , , , , ,

As you were enjoying lunch yesterday, maybe shovelling snow or snuggling up in front of the fireplace, I completed my first ever half marathon.

1:48:31. 138th overall, 29th in my age group.  ADRA race results can be found here.

The ADRA Charity Run starts in the Auckland neighbourhood of Mission Bay (awesome beach and waterfront commercial strip, great eating). I’ve never done 21 kilometres before. I did 20k last Sunday in training, but got lost and then pulled my left hip flexor and walked the whole way home, so it wasn’t a pure 20k.

But it was fun. The race is run along a fantastic stretch of Waitemata Harbour, starting in Mission Bay and heading uphill into St. Helier’s, back through Mission Bay to the commercial port (turnaround at The Strand), and finally back to Mission Bay. Refreshment stations were provided along the way, although I pretended to be a serious runner and carried some gels and my own faux-Gatorade with me this time.

And a hoot it was. I somehow ended up in the front third of the pack at the start and panicked a little on the inside thinking I would be moving at far too fast a pace. But luckily all the really good runners were right up front to start, plus they didn’t draft behind me which is my weakness in terms of sticking to my plan. Which of course, didn’t stop me from drafting other runners, but I’m not a very nice person. No walk breaks – I was planning on taking four – and only one stitch (cramp in the side, which I only ever get on the right side) the entire time. And yes, I got passed a few times and passed others a few times. It made for a fun cat-and-mouse game in my own mind.

As for pacing, I have upped my running to 14-and-1s at the start (times three), cycling down to 11-and-1s approaching the finish.  And for the ones, I’ve upped the tempo to a really really really slow jog because it feels weird down here walking – nobody else does.  I prefer standing out by wearing headbands or Hawaiian shirts as opposed to taking walk breaks.  I’m weird like that.

22 and sunny, winds only really strong in a bad way between kilometres 12 through 15. Fortunately that meant kilometres 17 through 20 the wind was at my back and my legs didn’t hurt so much. Kilometer 20 to 21 though…worst feeling ever during.

But pretty awesome afterwards.

Today was a personal best distance and I think I have a pretty tough p.b. to try and match. Best of all, I can now finally take some time off from running to enjoy life and my result. Well, it’s more that putting weight on my left foot sort of prevents me from doing anything really meaningful. I’ve been watching “The Office” reruns most of the afternoon after hobbling over to Pizza Fresco for dinner.

Wonderfully successful day. Congratulatory messages always appreciated.

ADRA Half Marathon.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

sounds wonderfull…enjoy yourself and let us know how well you did.

Comment by Blacksheep

cool shirt…good luck in the marathon.

Comment by nancy drew

Congrat’s to you Joseph !!!!!!!!!!!

Comment by Blacksheep

no walk breaks for 21k? omg…i bow to you, sir runner…i better start re-training now if i even want to finish anywhere close to you when you get home and run the oktoberfest 10k with me (uh yeah..memo: you’re in…it’s the sunday after the last night of festhallen drinking, so i never perform well..i’ll be training for the running part…the drinking is a given)…lol…congrats!

Comment by b

Congratulations Joe, you are well on your way to completing a marathon with a sub 4 time. Take it easy with your injury for a few days and keep up the good work.

Comment by Curt Hill

I doff my fedora to you, good sir!
No shovelling for me, but Torontonian Grey Cup organizers hit the news for being wimps, at least in the eyes of SSK & WPG fans… one bout of snow and they cancelled all outdoor events Thursday.
FYI, Grey Cup 2007 goes to SSK… won 23-19 tonight.

Comment by PianoMan

Now I know why your shirt looks familiar. It is the same pattern as the plastic bags now being used at H & M. Guess the kiwis chose it for fabric rather than plastic. Good job on the marathon. Enjoy your burger-feast.

Comment by nancy drew

Hey Joe:

Did you know that if you do 10 and 1’s according to the Running Room that you get to the finish line at the same time. Plus, you don’t almost kill yourself in the process. Cheers!!!

Comment by GE

Congrats on that time, Joe!!!! Maybe you could be a running back for the Roughriders?

Comment by puppydog

famtastic blog – congrats on the run – see you next year 🙂
Russ
Event Organiser
ADRA Charity Run

Comment by Russ Willcocks




Leave a Reply

