Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Victory Doughnuts.
November 27, 2007, 8:49 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , ,

By now, you should have realized that my Saskatchewan Roughriders are Grey Cup champions. This is so awesome. I am proud to say that I did not cry when the final whistle went. Almost, but not quite.

To celebrate this little piece of Canadiana, my workers sent me out to buy the most Canadian thing possible to celebrate the win, and to thank them for me streaming the radio feed of the game online all day long.

Victory Doughnuts.

Photo_112607_0021

There is only one doughnut shop here that I know of, and it’s a Dunkin’ Donuts on Queen Street. Sure, it’s an American chain, but short of buying everybody a double foam latte from an Esquires Coffee House (and I don’t drink coffee) this was about as inclusive a gift as I could think of. The doughnuts here are fantastic: less oily than you-know-where, and seemingly fresher than you-know-where. Is that because they don’t use frozen dough here? Perhaps. Is it because I am certain that the Boston Creme filling is less fake than back home? I don’t know.

All I know is we ate 11 of the 12 doughnuts in front of us, and I was absolutely beaming with pride. And in case the font is too small, the computer screen says “Riders #1!”

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats Kid…now what can we do about your Maple Leafs ??????

Comment by Blacksheep

The doughnuts even look good from here.

Comment by puppydog

I see some old orange and black hallowe’en doughnuts? Bet they were tasty!

Comment by nancy drew

The text on the screen should have been bigger, and in Rider green!

Comment by Jason




Leave a Reply

