Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Run Club Update.
December 18, 2007, 9:08 pm
Filed under: Get Involved! | Tags: ,

Back in my first ever 5k race (Rotary Fun Run, May 2007, Barrie Waterfront), I set a goal to finish in under 22:00.  That day I learned that I had no concept of time, that I can’t go as fast when it is brutally humid, that I have to maintain a slow pace at the beginning of a race, and that I place too much emphasis on dominating races.  That was the best corny line I could come up with tonight.

Seven months later, it finally happened.  21:38.  The weather conditions were perfect and I actually did a good job of eating good food in the days leading up to the race.  Another mission accomplished in sunny Auckland (actually, it’s raining right now, but, you know).

My fast running friend here was still five seconds ahead of me so there is a long ways to go before I’m wearing the maple leaf for Canada in Beijing…or London for that matter.  Ha ha.

The other highlight of the night was that I won the “big spot prize” afterwards – a free, three-month membership to one of the gyms in Auckland.  I’ll let you know how that goes should I get around to activating my membership at Les Mills in the new year.

Special thanks to the Loaded Hog for making the series happen.  Tuesdays, 6 PM start (so be there at 5:30), $6 admission per week, first drink free afterwards.  5k course around the Viaduct and the fuel tanks.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That’s excellent…congrats to you….what a wonderful background in this photo….you’re good looking as well !!!

Comment by Blacksheep




Leave a Reply

