Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


The Fat of the Foreign Land.
December 22, 2007, 9:47 pm
Filed under: In the News | Tags: , , ,

I am in the process of cleaning my apartment top to bottom and my last loads of laundry in advance of the holidays and I’ve decided to procrastinate by reporting on an odd piece of news from a month-and-a-half ago.

New Zealand has some very strict health requirements that foreign workers need to meet before being granted a Work Permit at the border.  I had to have a complete physical done as part of mine, where I was found to have good cholesterol levels and poor flexibility.  Fortunately for me, because of my running I am not in the predicament this poor English bloke found himself in.

For you see, it turns out that this engineer was too morbidly obese to be allowed entry into New Zealand.  It seems that the Immigration service has guidelines over who is slim enough to grace New Zealand with their presence.  His wife was also rejected as well.  When a nation is as isolated (in the geographic context) from the rest of the world, it’s easier to impose such barriers in this regard, I suppose.

The fear is that such individuals pose a threat to the stability of the health care system and may take up resources intended for the citizenry.  However, with such a shortage of skilled workers (including land use planners) in New Zealand, one must wonder how an obesity requirement serves a greater public interest than allowing the fat of the world to ply their trade here.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats on making it into the land of the svelte!

Comment by puppydog

poor felxibility……you trim thing…..I’m more closely related to the english guy…..

Comment by Blacksheep




Leave a Reply

