Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


“My Disposition” or “Auckland’s Perpetual Summer.”
February 14, 2008, 12:18 am
Filed under: Happenstance | Tags: , ,

Question: What is ’25 and sunny’?

I received a few e-mails and photographs (plus one text message) about how much snow and cold we’ve been getting back home this week. Pictures from my Clapperton Street condo show two metre-plus snowbanks, and I know of at least one roof in Ontario that has been shovelled off recently that is not normally needing a shovelling.

One pro of my year in New Zealand is that I get a straight year’s worth of summer (June 2007 to May 2008) with the reverse seasons in our respective hemispheres. True, the con is a straight year’s worth of winter (June 2008 to April 2009) but I won’t want to do much running over the winter of 2009 anyways. From the Canadian end of things, there really isn’t much you can do about minus thirty windchills.

But what about the paradise Auckland summers I often talk about in e-mails back home? Well, Wikipedia is a bit skimpy on record temperatures, but the BBC is not. Here are some weather facts about Auckland:

  • The record high is 32 degrees Celsius, set in December, January and February (Toronto’s is 41, set in July);
  • The record low is a balmy 1 degree Celsius, set in July, August and September (Toronto’s is a delightful -32, set in January and February);
  • The average daily high temperatures range from 13 (July) to 23 degrees (January and February) in Auckland, compared to between -1 (January and February) and 26 (July) in Toronto;
  • Conversely, the average lows range from 8 (July and August) to 16 degrees (January and February) in Auckland, compared to between -9 (January and February) and 15 (July) in Toronto;
  • Auckland has 193 wet days per year (defined as more than 0.25 millimetres of rain, versus Toronto’s 155;
  • Those rainy days bring 1249 millimetres of rain to Auckland (145 millimetres of which falls in July, the greatest month ever), while Toronto gets 821 millimetres per year;
  • Auckland consistently receives between 4 and 7 hours of sunlight each day. Toronto, meanwhile, received between 2 and 9 hours of sunlight per day;
  • I am told Auckland has the most consistent weather of any major city in the world. What defines those two variables above, I do not and cannot possibly know.

Anecdotally, the banner picture above (the former Rotorua Bath House and now the Rotorua Museum of Art and History) was taken in the middle of January, and I received the worst sunburn of my life the week previous. I finally understand why I have so many snowbird relatives.

In case you were looking for a one liner comparison, Auckland is warmer and wetter than Toronto.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Maybe we should get a place in the sun….where we can all go each Canadian winter for a little holiday….you seem to be enjoying the sunshine…

Comment by Blacksheep

Today is a balmy -27c. Its warmed up considerably.. couple days ago we were -50 something. Buy me a ticket and I will come visit.

Comment by ben

Hey, I’ll take TO’s & OTT’s snow any day over the cold here… we’ve reached -50 windchills in MBon at least 2 separate occasions, and in EDM once it hit the -40’s… before windchill.

And I’m reminded how I saw a TO kid telling a news camera while watching an outdoor Leafs practice that she was wearing 7 layers and, at -15 she thought it was absolutely freezing. -15?! Sad.

(Come to think of it, I’ll take TOR’s “cold” weather any day as well.)

Sounds like NZ has a moderate climate, Joe, no extremes on the hot or cold side… melikes!

Comment by PianoMan




Leave a Reply

