Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Cathay Pacific Half Marathon.
March 2, 2008, 8:27 pm
Filed under: Get Involved! | Tags:

1:51.  Not bad for a kid with a cold.

It was a legitimate fun run (as if 21k can be fun).  They aren’t even posting the results online.  They ran staggered starts and slotted people in based on anticipated finish (supplied at registration).  The goal was to have everyone finish at 10:30 AM.  I started sooner than planned because of this cold I have.

I don’t know.  It went well enough.  I stopped three times to have some of my homemade sport drink, but other than that I stuck to the plan  (10 minutes run, 1 minute jog).  It rained overnight so the humidity had broken, and it was cloudy so it wasn’t too hot.  It did rain (more like strongly misted) for the last 4k of the run.

There were free sausages and a miniature schnauzer at the finish line, who I got to pet for about a minute.  I want a dog.

I came home on the bus, stretched, showered, slept (if drifting in and out of sleep for four hours is called “sleeping”), ate a pizza, got to writing some e-mails, watched some TV, read some news, and then clicked “publish.”

All and all, a pretty good day.  Cough cough, sniffle.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

1:51 …. free sausages …. AND a miniature schnauzer!!!??? sounds like a perfect day!
Congrats, Joe!

Comment by puppydog

Outstanding……what was the puppy’s name ?

Puppydog loves Mats as well….

Comment by Blacksheep

Good job. Which was more fun…. the day before the race or the day of the race?

Comment by Nancy Drew

“Cathay Pacific”? Interesting… a HK airline winning naming rights to a marathon in NZ. Then again, I suspect Auckland might have a nicer marathon setting than HK. Which reminds me… how’s the air quality on average in Auckland?

Comment by PianoMan




Leave a Reply

