Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Mathletics.
March 3, 2008, 9:39 pm
Filed under: Ask a Canuck | Tags: , , ,

Scott asks (via Facebook): How long would it take you to run from Auckland to Korea?

Assumptions made in responding: I am running to Seoul, I am invincible, there is food and water stations at frequent intervals along the route, and I am Jesus and can run on water.

Seoul is the capital of South Korea. According to some random website, it is 9,595 kilometres northwest of Auckland. That’s 457 half marathons…or 228.5 full marathons.

Yesterday I ran a half marathon in 1:51:30ish while sporting a common cold. That slowed my pace down to roughly 4:50 per kilometre. From a pure math perspective and making the assumptions above, I should complete the ultra-ultra marathon to Seoul in 32 days, 4 hours, 55 minutes and 50 seconds.

However, I’m not a world champion runner, so I doubt I could keep that pace up over 32 days…let alone 32 hours. I’m planning to run a marathon at the end of September in Toronto, and I think that 4:30:00 is a realistic goal time for me. To do that, I need to run at a pace of 6:09 per kilometre. If I could keep that pace up for the first (and probably) last Great Auckland to Seoul Ultra Marathon, I would finish in 40 days, 23 hours, 29 minutes and 15 seconds. Naming rights are still available.

Of course, the easiest option is that I could always run laps around economy class in the airplane. Irrespective of how far that would be, it would take 12 hours and around Cdn$1500, but it comes with all the oversalted peanuts, fruit juice and major Hollywood films I could handle.

(Also note that today is Casimir Pulaski Day in the state of Illinois.)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

did you do all that figuring out on company time ?????

Happy Casimir Pulaski Day as well !!!!!

Comment by Blacksheep

Those airplane aisles were sadly not designed with running in mind. OK, at least not in economy class.

You could run laps on a cargo ship’s deck from Auckland to Seoul though, with stops perhaps in Sydney, Jakarta, Singapore, HK, Taipei, Shanghai… need I say more? :o)

Comment by PianoMan




Leave a Reply

