Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Holiday One: Hangovers, Beef, Movies and “Ice Cream.”
March 21, 2008, 11:32 pm
Filed under: Happenstance

Bob’s vacation suggestion was a clear winner. I thought a weekend in Queenstown with the hordes would make for a great escape from the city, especially with half of my friends already out of town or otherwise distracted. But of course, I was slow off the mark to buy a plane ticket. By the time I was online, I was looking at a NZ$700 direct flight, or trying to cobble something together via Christchurch. I was not in a creative travel mood after all, so I settled for booking a trip to Sydney for yet another half marathon.

After a surprisingly productive Thursday at the office (where I vapourized a four item to-do list in six hours), I ventured onward with another workmate to a flatwarming party of sorts…in that it was just the three of us, and I think we were celebrating the reordering of some furniture. I convinced my coworker to go for a long haul beer walk so I could pick up some Epic Pale Ale (from the Beer Festival).

This is where things start to go awry. See, I had only eaten a flimsy, runny, sweet chili chicken melt for lunch as part of my frenzied Thursday, and I was off to a flatwarming party where I would be pounding (POUNDING) the beers back. Of course, the inevitable happened and by beer three I was beginning to talk too loudly.

After bullying another friend for details on a weekend trip out to Great Barrier Island, one coworker and I advanced to the Northern Steamship to meet said GBI friend and her friends at a going away party. I am not supposed to flirt with this particular friend, but of course what excess charm and good looks I have is offset by my lack of tact. More drinking here led to an impromptu Japanese dinner and then finding a perch in one of the Viaduct bars (which one I cannot remember…O’Hagan’s?) to continue with the slaughter. Things get fuzzy after that, but I know we left the bar before 10:30 pm because that is roughly when I passed out in my bed. I received a text message from another friend shortly before that moment, so…

Day one of the long weekend (being Friday) obviously started late and with a lot of water. I spent most of the day catching up on news from abroad, playing video games, downloading TV shows (the sitcoms are back!) and planning the rest of my weekend. You know…generally low key, low energy activities. I also sent quite a few “sorry” text messages as well.

I finally got some gumption at 3 PM and cooked up some dinner. I made a simple, dry stir fry of beef (the last of my frozen meats), bell peppers (known as “capsicums” here), peppercorns and a whole pile of rice. That’ll be lunch tomorrow, too. It was okay. It took about 45 minutes to make, which is one of the quickest big meals I have ever produced. I am quite proud of myself for that. I also boiled up some Brussels sprouts. They were okay.

I haven’t been to the movies in awhile. I decided early on that my Friday highlight would be overcoming my fear of/stigma toward going to the theatre alone in order to FINALLY see Juno. Ellen Page and Michael Cera are sooooooooo Canadian. I assume they will be using their proceeds from the film to work on their non-regional diction. It was a good film. Not great, but certainly good. I’m glad I paid to see it. Then the movie ended and I caught a bus home.

I finished off my evening by washing the dishes, listening to some music, eating some vegan “ice cream” that I bought to try because it was on sale at the grocery store this week, and deciding that writing down the basics of my not-so-great Thursday night would lift my spirits a bit (I’m not terribly proud of how I treated Thursday night). And my spirits do feel lifted a bit.

My Saturday plans are far more exciting that the above, don’t you fret. I may actually take photographs even!

(And to up the classy factor, I just killed a mosquito and put its entrails into my empty dessert dish. I have no idea why I am still single.)

A selection of tonight’s music includes:

  • Reverie Sound Review: One Marathon AND Walking Around Waiting Downtown
  • Jack’s Mannequin: Miss Delaney
  • REM: Shiny Happy People
  • Smashing Pumpkins: Tonight, Tonight
  • Cat Power: Where is My Love?
  • BNL: When I Fall
  • Sondre Lerche: It’s My Job
  • Elk City: Everybody Hurts (REM cover)
  • REO Speedwagon: I Can’t Fight This Feeling Anymore
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I wanna think I partially won the contest since it appears you did drink some beer…perhaps lots of beer….gotta love REO Speedwagon….why can’t you flirt with that gal ??? Sounds like an excellent weekend….enjoy !!!!

Comment by Blacksheep

Question! (a la MXC)

Who here thinks Joe should be out on a Friday night, have a good time so he brings home a girl and does his best Quagmire impression? Show of hands, now!

(yay)

Well you’re wrong! Joe is a decent fellow who only would bring a girl home to go over the Bible and/or take time to write on his blog, so everyone else can live New Zealand through him.

Comment by The Bartender




Leave a Reply

