Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Commute.
April 15, 2008, 10:56 am
Filed under: Establishing | Tags:

I just spent one hour and five minutes driving the 8.8 kilometres between new suburban home and usual downtown office this morning.  It is pouring rain here – for the second day in a row, rare for Auckland even in winter – which is the likely problem. 

For quick math purposes, I averaged 8.1 km/h on my drive into the city.  I ran an average speed of 16.6 km/h in my last half marathon, and finished the 8.8 km long Round The Bays Run in March in 44 minutes.

It would have been faster for me to RUN to work today.  How about that?

From now on, if I’m not out of the house by 7 AM I am not leaving until, like, 10 AM or something.

 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OR you could walk/jog to work on a regular basis…that’d win you some eco-pal points 😉

Comment by b

“b” has a solid idea there…hey…whats the price of gas there right now ? Just went to 115.9 in Guelph…Jays are doing well…as are the Habs and the Pens….beautiful weather here….spring has arrived !!!!!

Comment by Blacksheep

Wait… how’s the public transit service in Auckland? Just over 8km/h… oy, I’ve done better than that driving in TO even during rush hour.

Comment by PianoMan




Leave a Reply

