Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


The D4.
May 22, 2008, 8:51 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: ,

I picked up a cold in Sydney (half marathon was awesome) so I don’t feel like talking or writing much.

The D4 were my first New Zealand musical experience. They were featured in a Rogers Sportsnet ad for their Toronto Blue Jays coverage many years ago (2000?). I went to MusicWorld (God rest its soul) and the clerk strongly recommended the CD I wound up buying – called it one of the best of the year that most people wouldn’t hear. They weren’t together long. It’s a tragedy, really.

They were also signed to legendary New Zealand pot-punk-alt label Flying Nun Records. Flying Nun is as close to loving a label as I have ever been. Their HQ is Auckland but the influence is national (started in Christchurch, heavy on Dunedin-based bands).

That Blue Jays single is called “Get Loose.” It also featured in Bacardi ads a couple of years ago (two guys in salmon suits running the wrong way in some marathon) and is one of my finishing songs for a 5k run (oddly enough).

Alternate link.

I’ll throw in “What I Want” for good measure.

Alternate link.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

