Holy smokes, I Live in New Zealand.


Anika Moa.
May 24, 2008, 12:39 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: ,

Anika Moa came out with an album shortly after my arrival in New Zealand – the first major album release of my New Zealand adventure.  The lead single off her album was the one I kept hearing all the time.  It received heavy airplay on the music television station here as well, which is where my crush on her came to be.

I mean, come on.  Short version: Girl with guitar, singer/songwriter, sweet songs, amicable fashion sense, nice smile – it was easy.  I began entertaining flights of fancy of meeting her on the street and sweeping her off her feet with my Canadian charm and English/Irish/Italian good looks (it makes for a great short story, believe me), and quitting my job and being her roadie or something.

Yeah, she’s a lesbian.  Totally, totally out of the closet.  Nuts. 

This means that she will just have to be my favourite New Zealand singer-songwriter.

The lead single mentioned earlier is the okay “Dreams in My Head.”

Alternate link.

The second single which isn’t as heavily played and is therefore more enjoyable for me is “My Old Man.”

Alternate link.

This is the second time I’ve had a big time crush on a girl who likes girls, by the way.  Here’s her making a cute reference about that, covering a great rock track (“Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!” by the Mint Chicks) I won’t be featuring this month from a band I featured a long time ago. 

Alternate link.

“It’s an Anika Moa version, which means it’s really quiet and, uh, gay.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

